5.5 inch superlift for 92 explorer sport 4x4 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

5.5 inch superlift for 92 explorer sport 4x4

Hey I have a question on the superlift 5.5 inch suspension kit , First of all let me say that I am new to the 4x4 scene, and also I just learned to use a computer so please bear with me . I am going to put a 5.5inch lift on my truck , But I need to know exactly what I will have to do to put 33x12.50 15 M/T tires on it, also I am using Mickey Thompson II rims . My qustion is what else am I going to need to make this project run smoothly so that I won't run into problems run into problems in the future. {bumpsteer, driveshafts falling out and so on etc. etc. any words of wisdom would be deeply appreciated! Last note I will be in Iraq for a few more months but hope to start this project when I return, I hope that $2500.00 should cover the price of every thing .

Thank You
Spc Roland Bray

Hey Roland, let me first welcome you to the boards and thank you for your service to this country, i'll be heading your way in a couple of weeks myself.

One thing i would recommend is gears. If you are going with 33s then 4.10 gears should do you fine. Is this truck going to see off road? If so then gears is a must. Plus it will help with all around performance on road. I don't know if you driveshafts will need to be lengthened or not, i'm not really familar with the lifts for the 1st gen explorers.

92 explorer 5.5inch superlift suspension lift kit

Josh thanks for the info, it is greatly appreciated and I will take it to heart! To answer your Q: yes I hope to do alot of off-roading but I still need my truck to take me back and forth to work. By the way nice truck:D ! So coming to Iraq huh? All I can say is that it really sucks here, and definitly watch your back! With all the good we've done for this country, there are still alot of bad people here who really hate americans!

Be safe and God Bless
Roland Bray