• Register Today It's free!

5R55E Reverse piston damage

cr125r847

Reaction score
City, State
Blooming Prairie, MN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'99 XLT
This is my first try posting pics, so work with me if they do not show up.

I'm rebuilding a 5R55E from a 1999 explorer and wanted to share something interesting that I have found inside:

DSC02392.jpg

This pic is the end of the reverse servo piston shaft. The end of the shaft is almost completely chipped away, which ended up causing the transmission to go bad and many hard parts to get wrecked.

I bought a used reverse piston off Ebay and received this:
DSC02431.jpg

The end of this shaft is pitted and cracking, just like the one that was originally in the transmission.
I just wanted to give everyone a heads up to very closely inspect all of the parts that go back into the transmission when rebuilding it. Damaged parts like this could easily go unnoticed and cause the transmission to fail soon after rebuild.

One question that I have though, is some of the exploded diagrams of the 5R transmission show a spring under the reverse servo piston and some with no spring. Anyone have any information on this?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Do you have idea why the spring is no longer needed?

The spring helped pull the piston back. The electronic valve bodies have a different fluid map compared to the A4LD so maybe they felt that the spring action of the band with gravity would be enough to pull the servo back. I guess the fluid could also push it back if it gets directed into the opposite side of the servo.

That makes sense.
I think the hardest part about rebuilding the transmission is figuring out what parts to order when replacements are needed. Ford has made a lot of changes to the internals.