• Register Today It's free!

8.8 Re-gear (help with pattern)

KPSquared

Reaction score
City, State
Wetaskiwin, Alberta
Year, Model & Trim Level
2017 Explorer
I am into my first re-gear and seem to be running into a problem. This might not be a problem but I have never done this before so I thought I'd ask in case I was missing something. I have pushed the pinion to deep and had it to far away. Those patterns I recognize, but the last time, it seems like one side of the gear tooth shows to shallow and one side shows to deep. I will just keep adjusting and see if I can fix it but if there is a simple solution. I'll post pics of the most recent pattern and if someone could tell me if I'm reading it wrong, PLEASE DO!!!

It's a Ford 8.8 from a 1996 Ford Explorer. Moving from 3.53 to 4.88. less than .001" runout, I keep the backlash in spec everytime I adjust the pinion.

Here's a couple pics.

IMG_1268.jpg

IMG_1270.jpg

IMG_1272.jpg

Any help would be appreciated!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Are you getting that pattern around the entire ring gear, or only in one section?

If you haven't already done so, check the pattern on 2 or 3 other areas of the gear.

The drive-side pattern (the bottom picture) looks OK - not ideal in the instruction-manual sort of way, but not a bad pattern. If I remember correctly, mine ended up something like that, and it now has 140K miles on it.

Those patterns look pretty good, maybe move the pinion out .002 -.003" and try once more and if the pattern gets better on one side and doesn't change much on the other that may be better than what you have. But you are getting very close to where you need to be.

On used gears, I think you set to the coast side to prevent whine. So, if the your coast side is off on new gears, it might do the same. But I am not sure about that.