91 Explorer Blinkers. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

91 Explorer Blinkers.

JasonGoff

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1991 explorer 4x4
Hello, I'm trying to diagnose a blinker problem. its a 91 4x4 explorer.

I checked all the fuses, and replaced the blinker unit. I checked the bulbs and found them to be fine. The hazards work. When I first noticed it I worked on it a bit and the blinkers started working.. and I thought I fixed it but later they stopped working again.. I think there is a loose wire or connection somewhere.

The rear defroster is not working now either. I read that there is some sort of connection between the 2 problems but I'm not sure what that is. Is it a loose ground or something?

Also I havent taken the switch apart on the steering column yet to see if there is a disconnection.

Thank you for your help.. I read the forums from time to time but this is my first time posting here.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

im having the same exact problem i posted yesterday,i bought a 92 exolorer 4x4 on saturday got to the gas station and when i left after gettin gas the blinkers werent working, i replaced the flasher and a burnt brake light bulb but its still doin it (blinkers and heater quit workin then if i turn the car off and restart they will work again and then won,and then will) let me know if you figure it out ive read on here about bad grounded brake lights and other stuff but cant figure it out, i think if i shake the fuse box iut helps?lol

I havent found any ground problem, I sent away for a new MFS, I'm hoping that this is the problem.. I need a new one anyways.. it always turned the signals off too early..