91 Explorer - severe leak after replacing ps pump | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

91 Explorer - severe leak after replacing ps pump

91xNightmare

Reaction score
City, State
Phx az
Year, Model & Trim Level
1991 explorer 2wd
First thread ever so bare with me...

I recently replaced the ps pump due to the old one seizing on the freeway, causing my belt to break causing a whole list of problems.

anyways, I took care of everything including new belt, new pulley/pump and a few other minor things.
I thought everything was good to go but after driving to and from work (2 miles). i notice that my (tightened) power steering pump cap had fallen off while driving and was gone and my ps fluid was completely gone.
So I then try to locate the leak (cap was also replaced btw:( ) and find that pump and hoses seem to be fine. further investigation, in find is coming from what appears to be the gear box?

Im just self taught so i;m not totally sure but i'm pretty positive its the gear box? its under the pump pretty much and its attached to the steering wheel shaft i think?

I jusr want to make sure before i go out and buy the part and replace something thats not broken.

could it be something else??
why did the cap fall off while driving ? It was on there properly im 100% sure.

thanks in advanced y'all

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The only time I've seen a cap come off is from turning the steering wheel with the vehicle off. When you do that you are pushing fluid back into the reservoir and can pop the cap right off.

As for the leak, well, the box under the steering pump that has the pitman arm on the bottom is the steering box.