92 explorer starts when IT WANTS TO | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

92 explorer starts when IT WANTS TO

electric88

Reaction score
City, State
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Year, Model & Trim Level
92 XLT 4x4
newbie here. have a 92 explorer that refuses to start, except when it wants to.the problem is intermitant start sometimes works with the key, but most times have to get out and pop the hood to jump the start relay posts. 3 shops, both ford dealers in town, and 2 mobile mechanics have worked on this problem (just over $4,000) to no avail. I have replaced starter, batt, start relay on fender, batt cables, ignition sw on colum under dash, and checked every wire i could find associated with getting the piece of junk started. i'm at my wits end and am about to drag it out in the desert and blow it up. has any one else had this problem? if so please help. as to the question" does it start in neutral?" the answer is it does nothing in park, neutral, or any position required to start. get a click then nothing. fuel pump and all other electrical work perfect. has a mind of it's own and starts when it wants, not when I want.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

will it start in neutral?

Could be a flaky neutral safety switch, or clutch pedal switch. Could even be a fuel cutoff switch acting up, but that would be highly unusual.