• Register Today It's free!

93 explrer "overheating" issues

fabioz84

Reaction score
City, State
Sacramento, CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
93 eddie bauer 2wd
Hello everyone, this is my first time posting somenthing.
It's my honor to be a part of this wounderful community. :thumbsup:
Now my question to you guys is not a common one. This has been thowing my head and my mechanich's head around for the past year or so.
My exploder is getting HOT!!!!
My temp guage gets over the L and almost to the line clode to tehe red one and then I tun it off so it does not overheat.
EVERYTHING in the coling system is new,T stat , Clutch, fan blades, radiator (3core), ac condensor, ac compressor, accumulator, radiator cap (13lbs from FORD), hoses, heater core and related hoses, water pump, temp sensors form ford the guage one and the computer one. Whenthe needle is at the L range I used the temperature gun and it showed 205 - 210 at the top hose of my radiator.
Also the coolant was checked for exhaust and oil contamination, no luck.
It does not leak any coolan and I do not have to refill it eather.
Ths is really wierd and is driving me insane.

P.S: It gets hot in traffic or at idle with the A/C on, but as soon as I start moving the temp rushes down between the N and the R.

Please help. Thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Since it sounds like you replaced everything in the cooling system, there are only two questions I have.

1) What is your water/coolant mixture?
2) Did you or your mechanic "burp" the system to remove any air?

Are you losing any coolant at all; a couple of cups every other day perhaps?