• Register Today It's free!

'94 Explorer won't start...

irrig8r

Reaction score
City, State
Silicon Valley
Year, Model & Trim Level
'94 XLT
You know I Googled " '94 Explorer won't start " and a lot of websites came up.

There were a few links that took me to this site.

I'm hoping for some advice from someone with more mechanical experience than I have.

I posted the following in a reply to another thread in another section of this forum yesterday. I probably should have started another thread here.

Thanks for any helpful suggestions.

Hi. I'm a Newbie here.

Got my '94 Explorer (112K miles) back from the mechanic about 3 weeks ago, and it only acted up twice more before today. The problem is recurring, intermittent and driving me and my mechanic nuts.

I've been stranded a few times, sometimes just temporarily, where it will start again after sitting a while. Other time have had it towed.

Looked at the inertial cutoff switch (an AAA driver showed it to me once.) Seemed to be OK, not tripped. Haven't tested it with my mulimeter yet and wondering how.

Both times before today removing and re-installing the fuel pump relay "fixed" it, just as has sometimes worked in the past.

First replacement was from Kragen's. Bought two more from the Ford dealer and installed one and have a spare.

Can I use my multimeter to test the relay? Any idea what kind of resistance readings I should get or should I just be checking continuity?

Fuel pump was replaced a couple of months ago and seemed to fix it... but only temporarily. Returned the vehicle to the mechanic where he said his assistant cleaned all the electrical contacts in the fuses and relays, then kept it for a few days and started it several times.

I do not hear the whine of the fuel pump priming when I turn the key (as I do in my '91 Sonoma P/U).

I was thinking maybe a loose wire connection under the fuses/ relays box...or between the relay and ignition switch, or the relay and the pump...?​

Thanks,
Gregg