96 Explorer transmission issues | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

96 Explorer transmission issues

exp09

Reaction score
Hey I'm kinda new to the explorerforum and I've been experiencing some problems with the transmission on my 96 XLT with the 6cylinder motor (has about 196,000 miles on it). I thought it was the infamous valve body issue that I've been reading about on the forums since the transmission seemed to be slipping, or "soft shifting" into 3rd gear.
Anyway I think it finally gave out a few days ago. There was a weird grinding noise downshifting out of 4th, and when i stoppped the car stalled. I managed to get it home by giving it alot of gas to get going, once it was moving it was fine but there was alot of hesitation and some grinding. Its currently parked and drive won't engage at all.
Wanted to know if anyone out there knows whats going on with the transmission, is it the simple and cheaper valvebody fix, or do i need a whole new transmission? thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Hey I'm kinda new to the explorerforum and I've been experiencing some problems with the transmission on my 96 XLT with the 6cylinder motor (has about 196,000 miles on it). I thought it was the infamous valve body issue that I've been reading about on the forums since the transmission seemed to be slipping, or "soft shifting" into 3rd gear.
Anyway I think it finally gave out a few days ago. There was a weird grinding noise downshifting out of 4th, and when i stoppped the car stalled. I managed to get it home by giving it alot of gas to get going, once it was moving it was fine but there was alot of hesitation and some grinding. Its currently parked and drive won't engage at all.