• Register Today It's free!

'97 Exp No Heat...NOT blend door

ColdExp

Reaction score
City, State
New Albany, Indiana
Year, Model & Trim Level
'97 Explorer Eddie Bauer
This is my first time here....great site. I've read everything I can about this problem. Here's what I'm dealing with:

'97 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer. I've had it for 5 years...great truck, except for having to replace the transfer case at 110K and the engine at 127K thanks to the timing chain cam tensonier problem. Now has 147K. After reading the threads I realize that I've had the blend door problem for the whole 5 years I've had it. Great A/C when on Max A/C but will cook you any time of the year if you choose any other setting other Max A/C. I have the automatic climate control. I would just switch back and forth between A/C and heat when it got too hot. But last week, all of a sudden....NO HEAT AT ALL! Now one has touched the temp controls. (we all learned long ago it didn't matter what the temp setting was anyway)

Here's what I've checked so far: Radiator is full. Upper and Lower radiator hoses are hot. Supply hoses to and from heater core are hot. Temp gauge registers normal operating temperature just as it always has. Blower works fine.

I've done the "Blend Door Fix" by Jeff Frank and got no change. I was wondering though, if there was a problem with the heater core (cloged or valve shutting off flow from engine) and it's not getting any heat, how would I know if the blend door fix worked or not?

Since all the hoses are hot, the temp is normal, and I'm not overheating, I don't think the thermostat is the culprit. Is this right?

Is there some type of valve that shuts off the core? How could the blend door, allthough not functional, allow heat all this time and then suddenly stop? I'm stumped!

Know in advance, your help is greatly appreciated! Baby it's cold outside!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.