• Register Today It's free!

97 XLT Head Unit Wiring HELP

Irelandunfree

Reaction score
City, State
Hamilton NJ
Year, Model & Trim Level
1997 XLT
So I just ordered a Pioneer HU from Sound Domain, it came with the wiring harness and im ready to install it but im new to car audio. The harness includes 2 plugs with wires, one black and one grey, do I splice and connect the matching color coded wires from these two together then plug it in to the factory wire harness? I need help! Thanks in advance guys :(

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

yes - the wires in the special harness should match up with the wires coming off the headunit harness. Splice them together and plug it in - it's that simple!

Awesome thanks for the quick reply man!

I prefer to use bullet or spade connectors to splice the HU adapter and stock adapter together, that way if I ugprade again later, I don't gotta go cuttin all the wires again... but that's just me

Of course I hit a problem, the two grey harnesses fit together with a snap, but the black ones are two different sizes. The original black harness is smaller with more wires then the new larger harness with less. Any help will be great!

i'm having the same problem, although i'm not installing a new hu, but i want to know exactly what i'll need to do before hand. from what i've been told it sounds like you have the Premium sound system with that many wires coming from that plug.
the new one has 8 right? should all be for the speakers.... the ford one has about 2x as many as the new one right??