jimster502

Reaction score
City, State
socal
Year, Model & Trim Level
1997 Ford Explorer
hello people.!

im a newb and i need HELP!
So i currently got a 1997 explorer xlt with the JBL sound system.
Anyways, I removed the stock 8 inch woofer in the back and just hooked up the wires to a 10 inch cvr kicker and worked perfectly fine. After a while of using the subwoofer on full bass, the amp started to get hot and I decided to switch to a stronger amp(alpine). So what i did was remove the connected cables from the stock amp and connected the lose capables to the aftermarket amp.I hooked up all the power cables that were used to power the stock amp and the cables that seemed to be the speaker cables(2 light green with stripe and 1 black with green strip I think) to the alpine. So i turned on the car and all the speakers were working fine until smoke came out from the alpine. So today, i decided to hook up the stock amp again with the original connecters. My car isnt currently running(needs new gas pump) so i put the car on ACC mode and the stock JBL stereo didnt turn on nor the antenna went up. I thought it was the battery, so i charged it, and reconnected the battery and the stereo still didnt turn on. So im currently confused and i dont know what to do. :frustrate

So i thought about the options i had..
1)Someone could help me on how i could possibly make the stereo work again.(Stereo was functioning before)

2)I put in a aftermarket HU-I would put this in:

http://www.amazon.com/Pyle-PLDN70U-...TF8&coliid=I3SANKDOL02C4U&colid=3GYB5DGU4EU38