99 explorer sport please Help!! Can't figure this thing out | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

99 explorer sport please Help!! Can't figure this thing out

Travis Wilcox

Reaction score
City, State
PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
99explorer sport 4x4
Forums>Gonna need lots of help>

Hey guys, I'm new to this so please bare with me. My wife and I recently purchased a 99 explorer sport for our daughters first vehicle. Shortly after we bought it man did the ol' problems arrive. Started off with the transmission feeling alittle jumpy and unsmooth and a loss of power. I had it scanned and received all types of fun info. Misfire on cylinder 4,5,6 o2 sensors (one burning rich, one burning lean) transmission gear 4 wrong ratio, and a rear speed sensor.. so here's what I've done.. I replaced the trans valve body gaskets and all new trans fluid and filter, I've replaced fuel filter, spark plugs, checked for vacuum leaks (which so far I haven't found).
After all that not much has changed, the vehicle feels like it has no power in gear 1 and doesn't kick in to OD (passing gear) but here's what's stumping me.. if I put my foot to the floor all of a sudden the thing will wake up, sound like I ripped the muffler off( normal driving you don't hear any exhaust leaks, even reving it up) and it will have plenty of power gear 1 and OD passing gear will start to work like it should. But is has to start sounding like a tank for it to have the power it should normally, I'll pull it in the driveway when this happens and rev it up and the exhaust pops and gargle like the manifold just decintigrated and then.. minute goes buy and it all goes back to being quiet, no exhaust noise even when reved up and sounds like a normal engine. So yeah..I need all the help I can get, thanks everyone for reading my book lol

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.