A/C clutch engages and disengages after recharging | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

A/C clutch engages and disengages after recharging

FrostByte

Reaction score
City, State
Chicago
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 Mercury Mountaineer
Hello everyone, and thank you for reading, this is my second post, and I am looking forward to being part of this community. Here goes nothing...

I have a 4.0L 03 Mountaineer, A/C was blowing hot, got a cheap $20 diy recharge kit from the local auto parts store ( i know now this was a bad idea ). So I go about recharging the A/C , before I recharged, the "AC Pro" gauge read around 10 PSI (and the clutch was not engaged) as I was going I heard a snap. The pressure now is in the green zone. However, it drops after the compressor disengages. I put a little more and the pressure is now 35 PSI, at this point the compressor is engaging and disengaging every 2~4 seconds. I go in the truck, NO COLD AIR!

I am a total noob. Is this a compressor issue, a pressure issue, or should I keep recharging it and disregard the needle on the red zone to see if its a misreading ( it happened once in my friends car, he filled it past the red zone and the pressure fell back down to normal. ). I dont want to blow up my truck, or spend hundreds on fixing this, any help is greatly appreciated:thumbsup::thumbsup:,

EDIT
Here is a similar psi reader with hose i used for refilling.

DSC_4758.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!