• Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

A-pillar Spotlight

Alec

Elite Moderator
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
April 25, 2000
Messages
15,997
Reaction score
1
City, State
Houston, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2008 JK
Has anyone installed an A-pillar mount cop-style spotlight? It's been talked about, but never described on the boards. How involved is the cutting/drilling? I would get a spot and mounting kit from Galls. Doesn't look that bad, but looks can be decieving....I saw an Apillar install on a Crown Vic and it wasn't as pretty as just drilling a hole, an arc had to be cut out. The spotlight on an X apparently goes into the door pillar.....

spot
http://www.galls.com/shop/viewProductDetail.jsp?item=SL061
mounting kit
http://www.galls.com/shop/viewProductDetail.jsp?item=SL028
black cover
http://www.galls.com/shop/viewProductDetail.jsp?item=SL017

I think this base model is 160,000 candlepower which will greatly help me. Plus, $120 isn't that bad for that powerful of a light that you can control....
 


Join the Elite Explorers for $20 per year. Gets rid of the ads! New $5 per month "try out" option.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




Alec

Elite Moderator
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
April 25, 2000
Messages
15,997
Reaction score
1
City, State
Houston, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2008 JK
Just ordered it

Well I just ordered the light. I ended up getting the 230,000 candle power HIR spotlight, mounting kit, and black cover. Total with shipping: $160. They said the installation is fairly easy: only one hole to drill through the door pillar, but it's one of those measure ten times drill once deals: the hole has to be perfect. Hmmm, when I get the light I'll decide if I want to do it. If not, I know a guy whose installed spotlights on Crown Vics for the campus police.

Yay, another gadget to play with!
BTW, just got my Eaton posi in the mail, getting installed in the next few weeks. Now I just have to get my skid plates and I'll be ready for Moab!
 




Brian8

Well-Known Member
Joined
January 4, 2001
Messages
428
Reaction score
0
City, State
Terryville, Connecticut
Year, Model & Trim Level
02' limited
i will be installing one hopefully on each side in a few weeks. let me know how you make out. i am having my father help me with this cause he installed one already in his bronco.
 




COMMOCOZY

Well-Known Member
Joined
December 6, 2000
Messages
702
Reaction score
0
City, State
Waukegan Il, 60087
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 Sport
I also will be doing this in the next few weeks. My dad is a cop so they have they all over the place. i just have to wait till they throw them out.
 




Alec

Elite Moderator
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
April 25, 2000
Messages
15,997
Reaction score
1
City, State
Houston, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2008 JK
Well the light arrived today. I should get a chance to install it tomorrow. The install kit came with a template so drilling the holes shouldn't be that much of an issue. I was bored tonight, so here are some pics of the light:

View


View
 




drmoore71

Elite Explorer
Joined
March 30, 2000
Messages
962
Reaction score
0
City, State
houston, texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2006 Z-71 suburban
well, doesn't that look like fun!! if you need any help, let me know. i get off work at five-ish.
 




mattadams

Moderator Emeritus
Joined
September 17, 1999
Messages
8,182
Reaction score
4
City, State
Longmont, CO
Year, Model & Trim Level
2017 Explorer Sport
looks cool! Although if doug helps you, then you have to help him install the PIAA 1500's he'll be receiving in oh... about 3-5 days :).
 




drmoore71

Elite Explorer
Joined
March 30, 2000
Messages
962
Reaction score
0
City, State
houston, texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2006 Z-71 suburban
oh yeah...i'm always down for possible free labor!
 




Alec

Elite Moderator
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
April 25, 2000
Messages
15,997
Reaction score
1
City, State
Houston, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2008 JK
Doug, we'll probably be starting on it around 630 or so. If you wouldn't mind, send me an email with your phone number as I seem to have misplaced it. The instructions are great and the template is very good. It shouldn't be a problem with the right tools. I'm always looking for a helping hand though! And I'd be happy to help you with your PIAAs, should be a piece of cake. We can do those sometime next week maybe.
 




beavis195

Well-Known Member
Joined
October 15, 2000
Messages
595
Reaction score
0
City, State
Sammamish, WA and Provo, UT
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 XLT 4 door
My friend just bought an ex cop car, a 1992 Mustang 5.0 with one of the spotlights, but we can't figure out how to get it working. Alec, when you install it, will you please describe the wiring for me, thanks.
 




Alec

Elite Moderator
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
April 25, 2000
Messages
15,997
Reaction score
1
City, State
Houston, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2008 JK
i haven't installed mine yet, but the wiring looks very simple: its only one wire! Run a positive lead from the battery (with an inline fuse of course) to a switch. then run a wire from the switch to the spotlight. the spot should ground itself on the metal frame of the car, so thats it!

good luck
 




beavis195

Well-Known Member
Joined
October 15, 2000
Messages
595
Reaction score
0
City, State
Sammamish, WA and Provo, UT
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 XLT 4 door
hey thanks. The car already had the wire in place. They hid it under the battery somehow. They also just removed the fuse. I popped in a fuse and it came on but the fuse blew. What size fuse did it come with? Thanks
 




Alec

Elite Moderator
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
April 25, 2000
Messages
15,997
Reaction score
1
City, State
Houston, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2008 JK
Hmm, my light didn't come with a fuse, I'll go down to Autozone to get an inline fuse holder. 15A fuses usually work for lights. Since this light is 55-100W, it should work since 15A fuses work for pairs of 55W lights. Also, I like the blade type fuses better than the cylinder ones, but thats just me :)

Also, see that the wire that's there is heavy duty enough. You probably want 12 ga wire to be on the (very) safe side. That way the wire's also thick enough to stand up to being routed through tight spots.
 




wabbit

Well-Known Member
Joined
March 2, 2000
Messages
518
Reaction score
0
City, State
Western Colorado
Year, Model & Trim Level
the white one...
I want one on top...

I'd like to get on for the roof. With the handle coming down throung the headliner.
Brian, where did you get your spotlight?
Anyone know of other places to get one of these? I'd like to check some prices...
 




Alec

Elite Moderator
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
April 25, 2000
Messages
15,997
Reaction score
1
City, State
Houston, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2008 JK
I looked all over the net and the cheapest price I found for the Apillar light was at Galls. JCWhitney also has some but they're of inferior quality. But, JCWhitney is the only place I saw that has them specifically to go in the roof.

Among the places I checked out were Sirennet.com and GTdist.com. Both were a lot more than Galls.com.
 




wabbit

Well-Known Member
Joined
March 2, 2000
Messages
518
Reaction score
0
City, State
Western Colorado
Year, Model & Trim Level
the white one...
Thx Alec...

I'll check those places out.
I'd really like to go through the roof for 360 rotation.
Maybe I'll call Galls to see if there is a different mounting bracket available for roof mounts.
 




Alec

Elite Moderator
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
April 25, 2000
Messages
15,997
Reaction score
1
City, State
Houston, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2008 JK
BTW: for wiring: I mentioned above to put a switch in. I just noticed that my light has a built in switch. Many of them don't, but mine do (yay). Of course, if your light has a built in switch, you don't need to wire one in.

Wabbit, as for roof mounting: the construction of the light itself needs to be different. With the Apillar lights, there's a right angle in the mechanism so the light points ahead. I think if you tried to put an Apillar light on the roof, you'd be able to get it to point ahead, but your movement would be severely limited due to that angle. But they should be able to help you out at Galls, they're very nice people.
 




Top