a4ld new modulator valve, stuck in 1st | Ford Explorer - Ford Ranger Forums - Serious Explorations

  • Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

a4ld new modulator valve, stuck in 1st

92expl0der

Member
Joined
April 21, 2008
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
City, State
Houston, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
'92 XLT
Okay I just put in a new modulator valve on my 92. The tranny shifted fine before but now it stays in 1st gear EXCEPT if placed in 2, thats it. So I will go down to 1. then when i shift to 2, 2nd gear engages. then when i hit D (3rd) it goes back to 1st gear, same with Overdrive gear. Help?
 
<

Join the Elite Explorers $20 Gets rid of the ads!

Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




BrooklynBay

Moderator & long time member.
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
November 11, 2005
Messages
55,304
Reaction score
738
City, State
Brooklyn, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
88 89 93 95 96 Aerostars
<



92expl0der

Member
Joined
April 21, 2008
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
City, State
Houston, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
'92 XLT
Yes mine has the wheel on it. Ugh not looking foward to taking everything apart again.
 
<



BrooklynBay

Moderator & long time member.
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
November 11, 2005
Messages
55,304
Reaction score
738
City, State
Brooklyn, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
88 89 93 95 96 Aerostars
<



Glacier991

EF Tranny Guru
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
February 8, 2003
Messages
9,831
Reaction score
36
City, State
Sacramento, CA 95827
Year, Model & Trim Level
1992 XLT
My guess is that when you replaced the modulator... you didn't remove the throttle valve (TV) spool....and it can be a b*t*h to get out... I am starting to be of the mind that a modulator replacement needs something akin to a rifle bore brush of the proper size used to clean that bore (AFTER the TV is out and prior to replacement) to avoid future sticking problems. The problems associated with modulator replacement causing problems in the A4LD are legion, and I think that may be why... just musing here. But, I don't think adjusting the modulator will do anything for you here.
 
<



92expl0der

Member
Joined
April 21, 2008
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
City, State
Houston, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
'92 XLT
I did not know about this TV spool. Im guessing I have to take the modulator out again? Also once I get into the bore, what am I feeling for. Im not sure what a spool is much less a TV one?

I am thinking I just need to reach into the bore and pull out whatever is in there? And does this need to be replaced when i put the new modulator on or do I leave the spool off and re-install the new modulator and drive the truck without this spool thing? Im pretty lost but Im not giving up hope. I am trying very hard to avoid the transmission shop. Also is there a danger of accidentally pushing the spool causing it to drop into the tranny? Thanks for any help,,

92exp0der
 
<



BrooklynBay

Moderator & long time member.
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
November 11, 2005
Messages
55,304
Reaction score
738
City, State
Brooklyn, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
88 89 93 95 96 Aerostars
Here's a picture from Glacier991's photo gallery:
15286DSCN4991.jpg
 
<



92expl0der

Member
Joined
April 21, 2008
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
City, State
Houston, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
'92 XLT
mine doesnt have a wheel like that, its like a small screw on the end of it. And so with this spool. How do i take it out? And does it have to be replaced with a new one? Still confused. But thanks for the picture that helps alot.
 
<



BrooklynBay

Moderator & long time member.
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
November 11, 2005
Messages
55,304
Reaction score
738
City, State
Brooklyn, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
88 89 93 95 96 Aerostars
Use a fine needle nose pliers, or a locking hemostat/forcepts to remove the spring, and the spool. Spray WD-40 into the bore. A fine tube brush would be a good idea to use. Don't lose the pin.
 
<



moon lake rick

Active Member
Joined
June 10, 2008
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
City, State
New Port Richey, Florida
Year, Model & Trim Level
91 & 93 aerostar
VM spring

Looking at the pictures of the 2 VM's, only 1 has a spring ot the end of the (spool?). Is this correct? HAPPY HOLIDAYS TO ALL!!:usa::salute::usa:
 
<



BrooklynBay

Moderator & long time member.
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
November 11, 2005
Messages
55,304
Reaction score
738
City, State
Brooklyn, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
88 89 93 95 96 Aerostars
<



Top