• Register Today It's free!

A4LD repair experience

bob47

Reaction score
City, State
Montour Falls, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
1992 XLT
I remain in awe of Glacier's A4LD overhaul thread. As an airplane mechanic I have sympathy for "bulletproof" repairs, but I am really allergic to spending a lot of my own money. My son bought a "bad-tranny special" on Ebay, and this was his experience:

#1 The transmission had no reverse... "reverse" was just another "forward". He disassembled the A4LD and reassembled it with the best looking parts from the junk box. This was mostly the low- reverse clutch pack and housing. He states that he would have reused the fluid if he could have. The boy thinks like his dad.

#2 The above overhaul lasted 20 miles before it spewed hot oil and had to be dollied home the next day. The trannie was again disassembled and this time the well-toasted forward clutch pack was replaced with our best parts from the junkbox. Not to break anybody's heart, but most any trannie can be U- Pulled from the local yard for $75, and cores are $25. We've got lots of parts!

This repair lasted a week before the transmission insisted on starting up in second gear more and more frequently. It died one afternoon in the driveway after barely getting up the hill, redlined in first gear.

#3 Now he got serious, and broke the cellophane wrapper on the "master overhaul kit" that he had on the shelf. The tranny (and the valve body) was rendered into a table- full of catalog parts.

Disassembly of the valve body revealed the tranny's underlying problem... There was an incredible crud build-up and the spools were jamming (not just sticking), making different gear selections fight against each other. The ATP valve body mod was installed as part of the reassembly, and it is regarded as a big plus. The new overhaul parts were installed with good-lookin' hard parts as necessary.