ABS and Stability Control Lights on! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

ABS and Stability Control Lights on!

Fire488

Reaction score
City, State
Monroe Township, New Jersey
Year, Model & Trim Level
2007 Explorer Limited V8
First of all i am an experienced Marine Mechanic and have been doing it for 35 years now. I have experience with brake systems and most other procedures that do not require special tools to complete. I recently (5 mos ago)replaced my front wheel bearing assemblies as they were starting to get noisy. (there is a post in here somewhere on that issue)They came with the ABS sensors which admittedly I do not know much about. I changed the assemblies and it was a very easy repair. Noise gone and everything seemed fine.
A few weeks ago during a rain storm my ABS light and stability control lights came on. The next day it was sunny and the lights went out and stayed out. A week later more rain and the lights are both back on. I assume it is a bad ABS sensor, but my scan tool is not able to tell which one it is since no code generates for this problem. I know that a more comprehensive and expensive tool can detect this bad sensor, but since I want to repair this problem myself I really wanted to avoid going to the dealer to be scanned.
The question I have is this: Is there a manual way to determine which ABS sensor might be defective?
Any assistance would be greatly appreciated and if anyone has a boat and needs assistance I'm the guy to ask. I have all those special tools...LOL
Any motor any boat I can help.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Update*