• Register Today It's free!

ABS Warning Light

josh75

Reaction score
City, State
Philadelphia
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Explorer Sport
The yellow ABS warning light came on in my 2001 explorer sport. I'm told by someone that it's probably just a sensor. As an engineer, I like to do things myself whenever I can... I looked into the repair... It appears that it's integral to the wheel hub. Can anyone tell me the complexity of replacing the wheel hub and if it's the same type of repair for front and rear?

Another question... in order to find the faulty sensor, will the trouble code from the computer tell me which sensor(s) it is?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Welcome to the forum. I believe that the abs code will tell what sensor is not working, but the standard ODBII code reader won't read the ABS code.

There is also a sensor in the rear differential that could be acting up. I'd look for any loose wires first around the front hubs and the rear diff.

welcome aboard

If you don't see any loose wires, you might want to replace the rear sensor for the heck of it. I replaced mine about a year ago and I have a 2000. You're probably due. I think it's around $15 and you just need a 10mm (give or take) socket to get it out. Ask the parts guy for a rear ABS sensor.

You'll be reaching up there blind because it's on top of the rear differential, but not tough at all. I'd just get a rag and scrub around the sensor before you unbolt it so no rust or dirt falls into the hole. Also, be gentle remove the wire from the old sensor so the wires/clip doesn't break.

Good luck and welcome to the forum!

you can run an ohm test on them too. should be around 1.09 to 1.7 I think. Check the specs though to be sure.