• Register Today It's free!

Advise on a transfercase problem

Jamieh560

Reaction score
City, State
Wilmington, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
'97 Sport
I recently formed a bad vibration after installing a lift kit.... i thought it was a u-joint, but I put it on a lift today and found that the output bearing on the t-case had 1/8" of play... Its really bad.... The output to the front axle has play to (but not near as bad) I know I can get a rebuild kit and chain for around 200 bucks... Its a borg warner 4405 awd t-case with 142,000 miles.. I'm a college student with lack of funds and this sucks!!! Has anyone rebuilt this t-case... Is it worth rebuilding??? or do i need to a used one?? Thanks for any help!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

My chain inside is fubar (I think) and I plan on rebuliding it this summer. Glacier991 plans on rebuliding one as well. Good luck

-Drew

Well.... i just got the transfer case out and will be tearing into it Tues... I will let you know how it goes i guess? wish me luck!!!

okay I broke into the case today.... and its not the bearing thats bad... its the case half the outer race of the bearing moves from what looks like the sarface has worn out... Has anyone seen the this??? I've already ordered the rebuild kit... has any bought a case half... How much did it run...

Besides that my 142,000 miles t-case was in great shape the chain isn't streched at all! plantary gearset was in good shape!!

Thanks for any help

I have that same play that you are talking about at the front diff yoke and transfer case yoke! Was your vibrations at highway speeds? Let me know if this took care of the problem! thanks

just buy a used 4405 from a junk yard for 2-300 bucks,