Alignment Problems | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Alignment Problems

imp

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
59 Ranchero F250 D'Line
The following thread start is quite old. However, it's premise is important to every Explorer, of any age or generation. Thus, the first 2 posts introduce the circumstances; the third is my own reflection regarding the "straight pointing" steering wheel problem.

BY: LOREN (2002 Explorer)

Hello,
To introduce myself, I'm a technician working in the automotive industry. I do not own a Ford product myself but I do lots of work on Ford cars and trucks. I apologize ahead of time if I'm asking a question that has already been covered elsewhere but I did not find it right away and I don't have time to wade through the entire forum. In any event, the last two Ford Explorer's I have done alignments( and suspension work ) on have still ended up with a slightly off center steering wheel. All angles will be in the green, the suspension is verified to NOT be loose, I will "split the tow" and jounce the vehicle, verify correct ride height, etc. etc. I'm starting to wonder if the Hunter DSP 300 that I use has the correct specs for the caster angles.
Has anybody run into this problem and do you know what the caster angles should be?

BY: CORNCRASHER

The only thing that is going to effect steering wheel alignment is toe. If the car is driving straight and the wheel is off the toe is off. Are you doing 4wheel alignments or 2 wheel? If you are doing only two wheel and the rearend is off one way or the other it can cause the wheel to be off even if the machine says the steer ahead is right on.

BY: IMP

First, a "****eyed" steering wheel when moving forward in a straight line adds the possibility of improper or no turn signal cancellation, for small turns.