Am I experiencing the classic "Death Rattle" | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Am I experiencing the classic "Death Rattle"

andyboy13

Reaction score
City, State
Jasper, AB
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 Ford Explorer XLT
Hi there,
I have a 99 XLT that has rattled away quietly at idle for a while now. Just recently, it's gotten much louder. I'm wondering if it's coming from an exhaust leak, or what I'm dreading it probably is :(

Here's a video of what I'm hearing. It's definitely on the right side when facing the motor from the front of the vehicle

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

exhaust leak?

I'm not very good with interpreting videos but it sounds more like an exhaust leak to me instead of timing chain rattle. You might try using a length of flexible hose with one end at your ear and then move the other end along the edge of the exhaust manifold gasket.

Hi there,
I have a 99 XLT that has rattled away quietly at idle for a while now.

You should just go ahead and replace the timing chain tensioners anyway before that idle rattle becomes much more expensive.

[MENTION=92913]StreetRod[/MENTION]
Thanks for the insight, that's actually what the old man was thinking as well. I'll see what I can find today.

[MENTION=27706]Flash[/MENTION]
Yea, but its a rust bucket with 295 000k's on her. There are rust holes in the body, a squeek on the front end, needs new winter tires etc.... I'm trying to decide if this is the straw that tips her over the edge

a long screw driver (plastic end held to your ear) also works well to isolate a noise. i have a mechanic's stethoscope and i find the screw driver works better.