Am I getting conned by this installation quote? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Am I getting conned by this installation quote?

dannyb420

Reaction score
City, State
Cleveland, Ohio
Year, Model & Trim Level
'04 XLT
I bought a remote start off e-bay. It is the same one that Best buy sells for $199. I called Best buy and asked for a quote to install it. They said it would be around $250 to install it. $50 for the bypass module, $100 to install the bypass module, and $100 to install the actual starter. In addition, they said they would need my spare key to program the bypass module and I would not get it back? I know I need the bypass module, but should there be a seperate charge for the bypass module installation? I am relatively new to the car electornics installation or I would attempt to install it myself, but at the same time do not want to get ripped off.

Thanks for any help, advice, etc!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I bought a remote start off e-bay. It is the same one that Best buy sells for $199. I called Best buy and asked for a quote to install it. They said it would be around $250 to install it. $50 for the bypass module, $100 to install the bypass module, and $100 to install the actual starter. In addition, they said they would need my spare key to program the bypass module and I would not get it back? I know I need the bypass module, but should there be a seperate charge for the bypass module installation? I am relatively new to the car electornics installation or I would attempt to install it myself, but at the same time do not want to get ripped off.

Thanks for any help, advice, etc!