• Register Today It's free!

Android head units

rednektrash

Reaction score
City, State
Chalfont, Pa
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Explorer Sport 5 spd
Hey there guys, got a question..... Im new to the whole android head unit thing and have a couple questions but the main question is, Where do they get the service from??? I do "add" it on to my phone carrier service or?????? An the next one is, Im guessing I'd need a hotspot in the car for wifi services, correct?? Thanks in advance for any input guys, been searching and cant really find what Im looking for.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The head units just plug into your android device or connect via bluetooth, just like iPod/iPhone compatible head units plug into those. Most if not all head units require you download their particular app to bridge the connection (whether via cable or bluetooth).

You need the internet/data to be working on the device to listen to Pandora or real-time stuff, but you can also just listen to whatever compatible audio files are already on the device.

At this time I don't know of any Android-based head units that actually have the Android OS in the head unit or anything like that, the head units are just a passive device that may allow you some degree of control over accessing internet radio and audio files with the head unit manufacturer's app installed on the phone.

At this time I don't know of any Android-based head units that actually have the Android OS in the head unit or anything like that, the head units are just a passive device that may allow you some degree of control over accessing internet radio and audio files with the head unit manufacturer's app installed on the phone.

Actually, there are a few with Android OS running on them. However they are still very, and I mean VERY expensive.