Another newbie in need of expert advice (1999 Explorer Sport) | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Another newbie in need of expert advice (1999 Explorer Sport)

t0adman

Reaction score
City, State
Seattle, WA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 Explorer Sport
Hi all,

I'm new to the forum but not to car forums and modding, etc. My wife has an Explorer that's making a noticeable whining noise from the back (little like a jet engine). We took it in to a local transmission shop and they said it needed the following:

Ring gear and pinion
Pinion bearings all around
Pinion shaft oil seal
Differential side bearing (cone and cup)
Carrier housing gasket
Axle shaft seal and bearing

The total price is $1,319.80.

This car is already on it's second transmission, seems to be getting more rickity by the mile, and has 150K+ miles on it. Based on the maintenance record I'm tempted to call the thing a lemon. As a total newbie to the Explorer ownership thing (she had the car when we met and got married) I'm looking to this community for advice.

Is it worth paying for this work to keep the beast going or should we throw in the towel and get a new car? I can't help but wonder if I'm throwing good money and a beast that's just waiting to fall apart (more). Is the price quoted for the work fair, high, good deal?

Thanks in advance for you help.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I would just go out find another rear axle.. $1300 is alot for a R&P, bearings, etc and labor.. And how do you know its your R&P that are damaged? Are there are chewed up teeth?