• Register Today It's free!

another trans problem

CopenGrizz01

Reaction score
City, State
Indiana
Year, Model & Trim Level
2005 Murcury Mountaineer
Just bought my wife a 04 explorer xlt 4.0l. Before i purchased it i took it for a drive and it shifted just fine. As soon as i got it home i had the wife take it for a spin and she comes back saying the tranny is slipping. And sure enough the darn thing is slipping or "shift flare". 1-2 shifts just fine. 2-3 sometimes fine but most the time it slips or its a long shift and shifts hard. 3-4 slips sometimes its fine. Then 4-5(OD) shifts fine. Theres no codes and the OD light dose not flash. Ive heard about the servo bores wearing out but just dont know if that could be my problem. And of course theres no dip stick because its a sealed tranny so idk how the fluid looks. Theres no tranny leaks. Sometimes it shifts fine but most the time it does not. I dont have money to put this thing in the shop. Im a decent drive way mechanic. I thought about ordering the servo bore fix kit for $200 but i wanted some opinions first.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

how many miles does it have.. it could be a dirty/ clogging trans filter, no guaranties on that,

how many miles does it have.. it could be a dirty/ clogging trans filter, no guaranties on that,
It has 154xxx. I was thinking it could be that as well but nothing is ever that simple for me lol

how was the oil does it look clean like it was well maintained. you can tell if its really dirty the 4.0l get slug if they are not well maintained only takes a few hundred miles

how was the oil does it look clean like it was well maintained. you can tell if its really dirty the 4.0l get slug if they are not well maintained only takes a few hundred miles
The engine oil looks good.