Apple CarPlay Preferences Question | Ford Explorer - Ford Ranger Forums - Serious Explorations

  • Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

  • Holiday Special! - 2 for 1 Elite Explorer sale!

    Right now you can purchase an Elite Explorer membership for $20 and receive a two year membership! If you have an existing Elite membership contact me by PM and I will upgrade your account manually.

    Click Here to start your membership and get rid of the ads!

Apple CarPlay Preferences Question

Wgriff05

New Member
Joined
June 4, 2020
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
City, State
Charlotte, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2020 Explorer ST
I just purchased my 2020 Explorer ST back in March and not thrilled with the Apple CarPlay in my ST.

Here is my question, is there a way to have an app use the entire screen instead just a 3rd of it? I would like the ability to turn off the Apple CarPlay Preferences and the current playing song tiles. Is this even possible in Sync 3.4 or do I just need to wait until Sync 4 is released?
 

Attachments

  • 8D3266B6-CC97-47EF-893D-4BFA837321EC.jpeg
    8D3266B6-CC97-47EF-893D-4BFA837321EC.jpeg
    138.5 KB · Views: 58




themishmosh

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 10, 2019
Messages
405
Reaction score
103
City, State
NE Ohio
Year, Model & Trim Level
2020 Explorer ST
No way to do it. Ford must implement it. I wouldn't hold your breath for new functionality when it comes to our Sync 3.4. Expect bug fixes. As for Sync 4, it is likely we won't be able to upgrade to it and there is no telling if Carplay will be able to be displayed on the majority of the portrait orientation screen. Bottom line: get used to it and just hope that the other glitches get fixed. I will say though that some glitches don't have to do with Sync, but apps on iOS are messing things up, ie. Waze.
 




peterk9

Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
December 28, 2010
Messages
31,978
Reaction score
2,523
City, State
Russell, Ontario (Ottawa area)
Year, Model & Trim Level
2020 Aviator Reserve
Callsign
VE3
Welcome to the Forum Wgriff05. :wave:
I think the above member has pretty well answered your question..There have been posts here stating that you won't be able to update to Sync 4.
Now members have been upgrading from MFT to Sync 3 by replacing the system so who knows for sure if it is possible. But a software upgrade is likely a no can do.

Peter
 




Top