• Register Today It's free!

arm radius bushing

nhut

Reaction score
City, State
dallas,tx
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 explorer eddie bauer
I took my 94 explorer for an alignment and I was told by the service people that the arm radius bushing needs to be replaced which cost around $350. I'm a college student with no money and I want to attempt this myself. I've done some minor to moderate work on my explorer such as brake jobs,A/C service,repack bearing.However, I have never change any radius bearing. Do you think that I can accomplish this task by myself w/o any special tool and how long will this take.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Radius arm bushings are the things on the end of the radius arms, I don't know why they would tell you you needed them during an alignment....but for charging 350 bucks to change them, they sure are trying to rip you off... They can be purchased at any car store for about 5 bucks per side, and you can replace them yourself. It'll just be a pain in the arse...no special tool needed, just jack stands and a jack...

youll need jack .... jack stands.... torchs ,grinder ( if they have never been replaced before..... ) you just need to grind off all those riviots.... thats the part that sucks.... and buy poly bushings... cause they wont blow out like the rubber ones....

got mine done @ tuffy muffler for around $180

Originally posted by 94EBexplorer
youll need jack .... jack stands.... torchs ,grinder ( if they have never been replaced before..... ) you just need to grind off all those riviots.... thats the part that sucks.... and buy poly bushings... cause they wont blow out like the rubber ones....

grinding out rivets just to replace the bushings? that's only if you replace the bracket i thought...