Auto Hub/Manual hub Q and A. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Auto Hub/Manual hub Q and A.

kifferarri

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
02ExplorerXLT 87MustangGT
Hey everyone! Im fairly new to the site, and this is my first post!
Ive been searching thro the site a fair bit, and ive found some answers, but some still need answering. I just thought i would try and get a bunch of Q's and A's together in one thread.
Ive got a 94 exploder xlt with auto hubs. so far, the hubs are still working, and i want to make em last as long as possible before i switch to man hubs. I should also mention that im an apprentice mechanic, so im not new to fixing stuff, but this is my first 4x4/explorer... Here are some of the Q's:

-Is there a rebuild kit for the autohubs? (nothings wrong with mine, i just want to see if i can make them last as long as possible... planing on doing this before our canadian sask winter hits...)
-ive heard/seen alot of talk on here about using trans fluid for cleaning/lube for the autos, im wondering if a very light coating of CV axel grease would work better for lube?

-As for manual hubs, my biggest concern is the T-case... can i drive around with the hubs locked and not do any damage to the t-case due to the front drive shaft turning in the t-case in 2wd?

so thats all i have for now.. please no comments on how manual hubs are better, as ive mentioned, im a mechanic, and ive already replaced countless numbers of autos, i know the man hubs are better and stronger... i simply want to make my autos last (i like not having to climb out and lock hubs, lol).
also, please feel free to ask more questions on hubs in general, and see if we can get em answered, like i said, would be nice to have just one big Q and A thread for hubs...
thanks all!

------------------------------------
87 stang GT 5.0, many mods, many more to come >D muh hahahahaaa!