Autonomous Explorer - self driving | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Autonomous Explorer - self driving

stillmarried

Reaction score
City, State
South Dakota
Year, Model & Trim Level
2017 ExplorerLimited 3.5L
I read in media.ford.com that Ford is working on autonomous vehicles, (self driving). Are you kidding me?

The darn Navigation on my Ex could not find the Walmart 10 miles away until the My Ford Touch came out with the 3.8 version update. Yeah, like I am going to push a button on a new Explorer and let it drive itself.

Hey, here is an idea Ford...try to fix the problems on the Explorers that have been around for the last 6 years first before you start working on self driving cars!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I do not buy in to the whole autonomous driving thing. I am a pilot and spend the majority of the flight letting the computers do all of the work. A typical flight can be completely hands off from the throttle advance on the take off roll all the way to a Category III landing at the destination airport. What's the difference you may ask? I spend hundreds of hours in a simulator and at the actual controls training for what to expect when the computers go off-line (and they will!) and how to anticipate systems anomalies or failures before they get out of hand. Will the typical driver be interested in this kind of vehicle operation? Hell no! And I am not either. I want to get in my car and go. Sure, there may be some safety enhancements to be made, but we are not ready for full reliance on computer technology without human oversight.