Bad News No AppLink for (current) Explorers | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Bad News No AppLink for (current) Explorers

bdot1276

Reaction score
I emailed the SYNC team and got terrible news
I'm not sure where to express my angry about this!:

Thank you for your email in regards to AppLink.
Unfortunately AppLink will not be available on the 2012/2013 Explorer models.
Sincerely,
Nathan
Ford Motor Company
SYNC Support Center
Ford Confidentiality:
--------------------
For security reasons, please do not submit any sensitive personally identifiable information, such as credit card numbers, driver license number, SSN, DOB, etc. Thank you.
[THREAD ID:1-68XPME]

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I am new to Ford Sync. What is the AppLink?

Welcome to the Forum bdot1276 and amospro.:wavey:
While AppLink is currently not available, Ford does seem to be working on it.

I received an email from the FordSocial people saying that FordSocial members voted on three concepts linking Facebook with Ford SYNC® AppLink™ technology. The feature receiving most votes was the one that allows connecting your Ford to Spotify, so you can rock out to songs your Facebook friends are listening to.*

*The SYNC AppLink feature listed is a prototype only, and not available in any Ford vehicle. Prior to making their way into production vehicles, all application ideas are thoroughly tested to ensure they do not distract drivers.

Peter

Interesting.

Wonder if Rebecca can confirm or deny. We were being told earlier that they were working on it. While it is not currently available they were working on it.

I guess I'll be a bit disappointed if they don't release it eventually.