Barn Find 1993 Explorer

harister

Reaction score
City, State
Youngstown OH
Year, Model & Trim Level
1993 Explorer 2 door
Hello,

I recently purchased a 1993 Explorer 2-door Eddie Bauer edition that has been in a barn since 2002. It has a nice body, some surface rust underneath, but nothing too bad, and a mint interior. 69 or 169k miles, can't tell for sure.
Anyway, I've been working on cars for the last 20 years, but all have been full-size 50's-80's Cadillacs, Lincolns, Imperials etc. I have had little experience with fuel injection, 4WD and onboard computers, and none with Ford's truck products.

So this Explorer runs when I spray fuel into the air intake. Otherwise it doesn't. Should I take the gas tank off, spray compressed air through the line, and check the fuel pump? What kind of job is this (2 hours or 10?)

Also, are there any other issues I should be aware of? Someone mentioned the transmission dipstick tube rusting, is that a concern with this model? Anything else to change/replace (other than a tuneup/fluid flushes) that I should be aware of?

Many thanks in advance

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The fuel injectors can clog i would clean the lines do a tune up and then go from there the fuel lines can rust also

Of course replace fuel and fuel filter. once done when you turn the key to run do you hear the hum of the fuel pump. If not check the fuses/relays if they test out good then think about replacing the pump.