Been around, never introduced myself. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Been around, never introduced myself.

SeanC

Reaction score
City, State
Laveen, Arizona
Year, Model & Trim Level
1993 Ford Explorer Sport
Hey folks. I created a thread in the transmission forum, but never properly introduced myself. I'm an electrical engineer by day, and a Ford tinkerer by night.

Last November, I ran across this majorly clapped out 1993 Explorer Sport 4x4 on Craigslist listed for $1000. $400 later, it was mine :D It had old, mismatched tires (one of which was flat), ran like crap, and wouldn't move under its own power due to "something wrong with the clutch". Interior and exterior were filthy from sitting on jack stands for 8 months with the windows down in the desert. Minor fender-bender in the front, and some serious blowout damage on the rear driver side fender like I'd never seen. Looks way better in pictures than in person. Anyhow, this is after dragging it home with my Tundra:

20151209_083310-1_zpsrboujfea.jpg

First order of business was getting it moving under its own power. The previous owner included a new clutch hydraulic line, which was my first clue as to what was wrong. I replaced that line, and we were under way. It ran and drove, but did both poorly. The check engine light was burned out, so after rigging the underhood light to the diagnostic port to read the fault codes, I determined that the DPFE sensor and camshaft synchronizer were bad. Rock auto to the rescue:

CAM00075_zpsrdxcdrez.jpg

It looks like new heads were very recently installed, and with these two parts replaced, the engine runs great. This gave me a chance to run some chores in the Explorer and find more things to fix. The suspension felt like crap, and I was getting some clunking from the frontend any time I hit a bump. I decided to rip off the TTB and rebuild the frontend.

Source of frontend clunk:
20160425_195154_zpszeb5bsuq.jpg