• Register Today It's free!

Big Bear, Calif for First Timer

BrownDogs

Reaction score
City, State
CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1997 Explr 4x4 XLT V6SOHC
I posted a similar thread in the shocks/suspension forum because I'm going on my first run and I'm getting Bilsteins shocks put on today. RangerX suggested I post here regarding my question about Big Bear Lake area in Southern Calif. so here goes:

I'm new to off-roading (so be kind ;-) and plan to take my 97 4x4 to Big Bear Lake, CA soon.

I intend to replace the stock shocks with Bilstein's. The guy at the shop mentioned axle wrap and said the Exlplorers have a 5th shock to handle axle wrap. He suggest I replace all 5 shocks. Is this correct?

Any advice for novice off-road trails in Big Bear area? I've got a Sidekick Off-Road map and the Delormes map book.

Looks like the road 2N13 from Fawnskin to Green Valley would be nice. How long would that trip take altogether? Is it fairly easy? Maybe too easy? I'm not looking to go on a really rough ride this time. Or the east side near Baldwin Lake (3N16) that goes up to the old abandoned mines looks good.

What does it mean in the Sidekick Off-Road map when it says a road is "Trail Guide" highlighted in yellow?

I'll be in Big Bear Monday-Friday of next week with my wife. I just wanna go on some easy trails with her so she enjoys it. She used to go on Jeep runs up in Northern Calif with her Dad when she was younger so she knows what to expect.

Is it okay to travel alone one on of the easy trails during the week? If something happens will a cell phone on AT&T (used to be GTE) work up there? I don't have a CB. Will there be other traffic on the trail in case I break down?

If anyone wants to meet for a run next week let me know. Like I said, though, I'm new to off roading and the X is stock so nothing too rough for the first time.

Thanks,
Mark

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.