Body Swap (or My Explorer is Rotted to $#!T, Help Me!) | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Body Swap (or My Explorer is Rotted to $#!T, Help Me!)

rewind1

Collector of Broken Fords
Reaction score
City, State
New Haven, CT
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 Mounty/03 Eddie/02 XLT
I have been driving my 2003 Eddie Bauer for the past 4 years. I have been pretty happy with it until recently. I let a lot of issues build up and became very frustrated with all of them (I will detail these issues later).

I was considering getting something else, but I changed my mind and decided I was going to give the Eddie some well deserved TLC. Since I can't afford something new, I thought the devil I knew would be better than the devil I didn't know. Then came the shocker, the realization of just how bad the rot and rust under my truck was.

I had considered replacing the rockers myself but once I got a better look found out that there was nothing to even weld to. The estimate that I got from a body shop was $2,700. At this point I didn't have a clue what to do. If that was the only problem, I might have spent the money and just got it done. But with the other things I need to take care of I couldn't convince myself it was worth it.

In desperation I had a bright idea to find a parts truck (don't ask for what parts, i was desperate). I searched c's list for "explorer", sorted lowest to highest, and stopped at the first 3rd Gen I could find. A 2002 XLT for $600. The listing said "Needs Transmission" but was a month old so I thought it had to be gone already. Nope, I got lucky!

I picked it up with my dad yesterday. The previous owner said it would not move under its own power so I was expecting to have to hand winch it onto our trailer. Nope, I got lucky again!