box building help

expo5.0

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
Red Wing, MN
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 xlt
i have an 800a2 and two he2 4 ohm dvc 15s in the mail right now. i want good sound quality, but i listen almost only to rap and i don't really care how linear the response of my subs are so long as they pound from 35-65 or so. rockford recommends a 2-4 cubic foot seales enclosure or a 2-4 cubic foot ported per sub. they say a 2.5 is ideal.

sub specs are- vas 23.6, fs(hz) 22, qts 0.51, xmax 13mm. they are rated for 500 rms and 1,000 peak and my amp says it makes 520 by two channels at two ohms so the will be getting right about the rms power.

should i build the box ported or sealed for my application? what about vented? i have seen some vented boxes on ebay and other places and i feel more comfortable building that than a port (i have no experience with tuning a port and don't know how to-- if you suggest ported tell me how please)

i plan on building one large enclosure, but with the two subs seperated so they have their own airspace. how much airspace should i give each sub?

pretty much just tell me what size and ported, sealed, or vented? and i'll go from there.

also, i found a calculator that could suggest either a ported or sealed box, but i need qts for it to work. i can't find the qes of these subs anywhere on the net. what is it?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

any ideas?