• Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

^^Searches ExplorerForum.com^^

Carb+5.0+PATS=?


Truckinmario

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
City, State
Vienna WV
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 Explorer
i have in my garage a rebuilt 5.0, brand new internals that's carb'd. I'm planning to put this in my 99 explorer. Given the pats system will largely remain untouched, everything should work since the engine will (obviously) not have an ecm.

Is this correct, or am I way off base and need to reconsider and a find a solution?
 


Join the Elite Explorers for $20 per year. Gets rid of the ads! New $5 per month "try out" option.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




vroomzoomboom

Elite Canuck STOCK SUCKS!
Elite Explorer
Joined
January 22, 2007
Messages
9,566
Reaction score
842
City, State
selkirk, manitoba
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 supercharged 347 sport
are you using the efi from the truck, or have you converted the truck to carb?
 




boominXplorer

Elite Ranger
Elite Explorer
Joined
September 16, 2002
Messages
9,176
Reaction score
644
City, State
Virginia Beach, Va
Year, Model & Trim Level
00 4x4 Mounty
Convert the truck to carb and you won't have any issues with pats after you run your 1 starter signal wire. Or you take all the carb junk off and replace it with the explorer intake and sensors then the computer can stay untouched.
 




Truckinmario

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
City, State
Vienna WV
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 Explorer
Thanks! That's what I was curious about!
 




VR4

Active Member
Joined
August 10, 2015
Messages
237
Reaction score
16
City, State
vancouver, wa
Year, Model & Trim Level
01 explorer
Convert the truck to carb and you won't have any issues with pats after you run your 1 starter signal wire. Or you take all the carb junk off and replace it with the explorer intake and sensors then the computer can stay untouched.
Best option. Put the carb junk on Craigslist.
 




96ex5.0

Elite Explorer
Joined
August 11, 2012
Messages
550
Reaction score
20
City, State
canyon tx
Year, Model & Trim Level
96 explorer 5.0 4x4 5spd
I love my carb swap, are you using the stock trans? If do you have to keep the computer it tells it when to shift.
 




Truckinmario

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
City, State
Vienna WV
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 Explorer
If I use this motor in going to use a t-5 instead of the auto.
 




Top