• Register Today It's free!

Carputer?

Ryanc721

Reaction score
City, State
Fairfield, NJ
Year, Model & Trim Level
2020 Explorer Limited
does anyone know where i can get one? i would need it to hook up to my avic d3... and if i do hook it up to my d3, would it be a touch screen carputer too?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Using the D3 as the front & backend of a carputer really limits the true functionality of it. It'd be tough for me to do it knowing I already have a good HU, but you'll need to get a 7" touch screen to really use the system.

Do you have external amp(s) already powering your speakers? If so, you're ahead of the game.

Let me know what you want out of your system. And the most important question...what's your budget?

I work in IT, so this sorta thing is right down my alley. However, I spec'd one out if I were to build it and it would cost about $1350 to have it do what I want. That's not including an amp. The reason I'm holding off is I can't find an amp that has an optical input on it anywhere.

Using the D3 as the front & backend of a carputer really limits the true functionality of it. It'd be tough for me to do it knowing I already have a good HU, but you'll need to get a 7" touch screen to really use the system.

Do you have external amp(s) already powering your speakers? If so, you're ahead of the game.

Let me know what you want out of your system. And the most important question...what's your budget?

I work in IT, so this sorta thing is right down my alley. However, I spec'd one out if I were to build it and it would cost about $1350 to have it do what I want. That's not including an amp. The reason I'm holding off is I can't find an amp that has an optical input on it anywhere.