• Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

CB + AM/FM???

jowoodall

Reaction score
City, State
Atlanta, GA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'98 Sport
Hey everyone. I am somewhat new to the CB scene (like 3 months) and I am really sick of my antenna. I started out with a great radio and a short, cheap antenna and have regretted it ever since. I have been wanting to upgrade, but didn't want a second big antenna.
One day last week I was looking at different webistes and noticed that some companies (such as firestik) make splitters for CB antennas that allow you to get your AM/FM reception and CB from the same CB antenna. so here is my idea:
I want to replace my current factory AM/FM antenna with a ~4' CB whip and use a splitter to get my AM/FM.
Questions:
1. has anyone tried this or know how well it REALLY works?
2. (I have a '98 sport) Does anyone know of a good way to install the antenna without having to destroy the plastic "thing" (casing, or insulator, or random piece of plastic present only for asthetic or medicinal purposes) around the current antenna?

Any ideas would be great. and just an FYI, I am just a poor college student and can't afford anything over a $100 or so (sorry no HAM for me).

Thanks guys,

Joey

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 per year. Gets rid of the ads! New $5 per month "try out" option.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.

Sandy

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
Boston Area
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 Ranger Edge