Changing Sway Bar Bushings / End Links | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Changing Sway Bar Bushings / End Links

Dario

Reaction score
City, State
MN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'02 XLT
I am about to embark upon my first mechanic task beyond a simple oil change and that is changing my sway bar bushings and end links. Although it's my first time doing it myself, this will be my 5th set of bushings on this vehicle and I am going with Moogs. Ford stabilizer bar brackets and bolts, plus Moog end links. I've an AllData account and a Haynes/Chilton manual is on its way. Plus I have a torque wrench and other misc. tools.

SwayBarBushing.jpg

EndLink.jpg

I am following the procedures Joe Dirt outlines in his informative thread for the '95-'01 Explorers here.

But I have a couple of questions first.
  1. Joe has his front end up on a jack. My wife gets nervous when I do that so I wonder if a set of ramps would work as well? In other words, do the wheels need to be free as they would when the vehicle is jacked?
  2. I read through Joe's post a few times but don't recall him greasing the bushings. Should I?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

make sure you measure your sway bar before you purchase your bushings as Ford used several different sized sway bars.

And make sure that the truck is back on the ground with weight on the bar before tightening the end links...

sway bar bushings

You said that this is the 5th set. Why not return the rubber parts and replace them with polyurethane from Energy Suspension, Daystar or a similar company. They will last forever and improve your handling. They are generally cheaper also. Good luck.

Thanks guys.