• Register Today It's free!

Clunk in 4WD and clunk in 2WD

thebigrooster

Reaction score
City, State
Defiance, Ohio
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 Explorer Sport
I have clunking going on everywhere. Its 2 different clunks though and I think they're completely unrelated. I'm new to 4WD, as this is my first 4WD vehicle.

I've seen people mention 4WD should not bind in gravel and I would think dry grass would be alright too although I'm not sure. I get tons of binding and clunking no matter what if I turn in 4WD at all. Obviously the more I turn the more clunking I get, but even if I turn slightly it'll usually go "clunk ... clunk ... clunk" I'm guessing its u-joints because the previous owner never used 4WD and its got 155k on it. I'm not sure though.

Also, when I'm in 2WD I get a loud clunk that sounds a lot like a binding clunk you'd get in 4wd when I hit a bump in front of a store or something. Can u-joints sound really nasty when not turning in 2wd? Sometimes the 2wd noise does get made while turning but it does happen when driving straight. I'm guessing radius arm bushings but I have no clue.

Thanks a lot guys.

when you're in 4w turning the most likely cause is the U-joints in the half shafts.

When in 2w, the parking lot bump thing, likely cause is radius arm bushings.

Also, you NEVER want to engage 4WD on high traction surfaces. A little 4WD primer for you: