• Register Today It's free!

clunk noise when hitting bumps?

proffessor1979

Reaction score
City, State
NJ
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 XLT
hey guys..wondering what this could be..sometimes, not everytime..i go over a bump or something it feels like something hits underneath my foot....

i go over a bump and after the bump...I feel a sort of thud under my left foot while driving. Im not sure if it does that in the passenger side...anyone have an idea what that is?

The truck isn't overly bouncy or anything either...maybe a ball joint or something?

thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

How's your RA (radius arm) bushings?

I don't know how they are...how would I check that? I'm a newbie at this...sorry..lol

I don't think there is any way of checking them without taking them apart.. I think these are a common problem on 1st generation Explorers.

I just got a quote yesterday (Chicago) for my 93, 2 hours labor if the rivets are still installed 1 hours if they had been replaced by bolts. so something in the range of $225

I want to get one more estimate as he quoted about $75 for the parts (for the heavy duty moog pn)

I usually do most of my own stuff but doing a search on radius arm bushings made me decide to take it in.

There are a lot of posts on this subject and a couple of how-to's as well

"D"

My guess would be the Radius Arm bushings. I replaced the RA bushings on my '94 last year and the same problem was happening to me. I would go over a speed bump or something similar and there would be a clunk. The radius arms are connected to the front end and they extend back to about the front doors where the pass through a structural member and the bushings are there. I would do a search on "Radius Arm bushings" and you will get a lot of information including the procedure for replacing them.