Cold start/ possible fuel pump | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Cold start/ possible fuel pump

Reaction score
City, State
Brooklyn,NY - Newfoundland,PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 XLT
Hey guys so I have a question I need help with for my 2003 Ford explorer sport.
I'm a truck driver and had been away from my personal vehicle for a year now. I have started it a few times with no problem. But now with all the snow and cold weather I am having a issue starting her back up again.
The vehicle only has 125k miles, it ran great before.
I have plenty of fuel and oil. When I crank her up it doesn't turn over. Just keeps cranking. I bought a new battery just the other day but didn't help turn her over. I sprayed some engine starting fluid into the air intake and it worked only for a second. So my Spark plugs are good but it never turned over. I checked the fuel pump relay and it is good also.
The only thing I haven't checked was the fuel pump itself. I can't imagine it go bad since I haven't driven the vehicle for over a year and the 3 times I started her up I had no problems.
I been looking all over the forums and online but am having trouble finding a solution. I've been looking for the fuel pump pressure port or somewhere I can open up to check if there is any pressure. But I'm lost. I just can't find it. I've been trying to find diagrams and pictures but no luck in pinpointing the location.
Everywhere I looked and seen on YouTube and forums doesn't reflect the location for my 2003 Ford explorer sport.
I'm hoping someone here can help me out either in helping find a place to check the fuel pressure or a solution to get my vehicle started again.
I just bought inssurance and re-registered and will be using her again from now on, but it's a shame this has to happen now.
Is there a fuel pump fuse besides the relay?