Compression Test and Leakdown Test - 1999 4.0 SOHC | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Compression Test and Leakdown Test - 1999 4.0 SOHC

albator

Reaction score
City, State
Bonny Doon, CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 Mercury Mountaineer
The engine works great, but I'm in lockdown so I want to keep myself occupied...

I have bought a compression tester and a leakdown tester, and I'd like to use them.
This is my first time.

For the compression test it seems the hardest part is to access and remove some of the spark plugs.
I will remove the relay #5 to disable the fuel pump.
What about cranking the engine? Remote starter device, or just turn the key?
What about the ignition? Disable the coils? How?

For the leak down, I need to find the TDC.
How do I turn the crankshaft?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The engine works great, but I'm in lockdown so I want to keep myself occupied...

I have bought a compression tester and a leakdown tester, and I'd like to use them.
This is my first time.

For the compression test it seems the hardest part is to access and remove some of the spark plugs.
I will remove the relay #5 to disable the fuel pump.
What about cranking the engine? Remote starter device, or just turn the key?
What about the ignition? Disable the coils? How?

For the leak down, I need to find the TDC.
How do I turn the crankshaft?

Compression test How to Do a Compression Test