• Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

Contribute your experience: Ford Explorers 2016-2019

unspecifieduser

Reaction score
City, State
Raleigh, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
Jeep Grand Cherokee
I'm in the market for a new vehicle and was considering 2016-2019 model Explorers. I'm just getting into looking into these models, but wanted to see if anybody had any thoughts about changes across those years and whether there were aspects worth considering or things to stay away from.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 per year. Gets rid of the ads! New $5 per month "try out" option.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.

blwnsmoke

Staff member
Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
Year, Model & Trim Level
2020 Explorer ST
Buy a 17+ (sync 3) and make sure it is within the b2b warranty so you can buy a Ford ESP on it.

Diveshard

Reaction score
City, State
Gatineau, QC, Canada
Year, Model & Trim Level
2016 Explorer XLT V6
I agree with Smoke. The biggest regret I have my with 16X is not having Sync3. If I would have known I would have waited for a 17X.

unspecifieduser

Reaction score
City, State
Raleigh, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
Jeep Grand Cherokee
Thanks for the suggestion. I just looked and it looked like a lot of grumbling about that issue and good to know to look for 2017+ models.