Convert 94 Sport V6 to a V8

Spicketman

Reaction score
City, State
Greenville, South Carolina
Year, Model & Trim Level
Explorer 94 Sport
Hey,
I'm brand new to this so I'm trying to figure out where everything is on this forum.
I have a Explorer Sport 94 V6. It has 215k miles on it and the motor was pretty dogged when I got it. I'm tired of not having ANY power and was thinking of changing the motor out with a V8. I have Never done this before. I have rebuilt motors before but never a conversion.
Am I better off getting a another truck with a v8 or just buying a crate motor that I'll know will last me awhile. I really only have about $4k. And I would hate to buy another truck that needs work on it too. Any help would be appreciated. Thanx! Daniel

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Daniel,

welcome to the forum.
This question is asked quite often.
You cannot just drop a V8 into your truck, the entire drivetrain, electrical, cooling, plumbing, and exhaust will all need modifications.

Try searching around a bit you will find alot of information here about what it takes to put a 5.0L v8 and transmission into a Gen I Explorer.

I put one in my 88 Bronco II which is very similar to your Gen I ex, it took me 6 months and cost me about $6500, doing all the work myself and needing some very expensive parts, this also was not even close to my first conversions, just to give you an idea of whats involved.

Hope that helps!

SO do u think I would be better off just getting like a supercharged V6 crate engine?. I'm pretty sure even putting a hamster in a wheel under the hood would give me more horse power right now. =0) But seeing what you did to your truck I would love any suggestions. Thanx

I think the supercharged V6 is still going to require some modifications to the rest of your drivetrain, etc., and cost could add up.