• Register Today It's free!

DAYTIME BRIGHT LEDS

Stephen Cannon

Reaction score
City, State
DFW METROPLEX
Year, Model & Trim Level
2018 Explorer Sport
This may have come up but I will put my props for them. This is the aftermarket LED replacement for the mirror underside approach/courtesy lamps. As you now the OEM lights work but typical yellow incandescent lighting. These replacements are full plug and play literally LED 5500K white. (5500K is Kelvin a measurement of light intensity.) The higher the number the brighter. I am by no means an electrical engineer but basically on light charts 5500K is getting near the limit of natural light. The HID headlights you see on the car with total white are in this range, much beyond that and the lights start taking a blueish/purplish tint.

The brightest I have used was 6000K. That was white and maybe a little on the bright side but not obvious enough to get hassled or stopped by the police. With the Taurus I did subdue with a 5% smoke headlight film. Don't panic remember headlight tine is opposite of window tint. Window Tint at 5% blocks 95% of the light....Think Limo Tint. With headlight tint film just the opposite. a 5% headlight tint will ALLOW 95% of the light projection beam through.

I am probably going to start the obvious engineering discussion about HID reflectors, proper beam pattern diffusion etc...etc..etc....obviously research the topic but also remember these are courtesy lights for the mirrors and project DOWN not forward. Also remember the mirror light should only be illuminated when door is open or unlocked. During the course of normal driving the light should be extinguished.

55w-xenon-hid-kit-car-headlight-slim-ballast.jpg