V6 or V8 Esploder/Mountaineer?

• Total voters

Moose_Of_Evil

Reaction score
City, State
Oregon, The State Park!
Hi.

I'm not in here much.

I'm looking at possibly buying either an Explorer or Mountaineer for da' wife to drive back and forth to work.

My problem is concerning which engine to go with. I'm looking to find something with as few miles on it as possible, and there are several available which fit the bill. I know most of the problems with the V8's...or at least a few of the problems anyway...and I've got little to zero experience with the 4.0 SOHC engine and related transmission. I'm needing 4wd/AWD, and am aware that the V8's come with full-time AWD, so that's not a problem.

My issue with the V8 is that I know it has reeeeeeally crappy exhaust manifolds on it, and I'm not sure who's still doing tunes for these vehicles now that Henson is out of business. However, it's a cast iron lump of 1960's goodness that doesn't have timing issues like the 4.0 SOHC...but the V6 (at least the couple that I've driven) got pretty good gas mileage, although it seemed they were constantly high in the rev range...

At any rate, which one to buy? Does anyone still do tuning for either engine? Is someone still doing headers for the V8 after the TorqueMaster fiasco of a few years ago, or am I off to the exhaust shop to do my own? Will Granny get back in time to save the damsel in distress from Dastardly Dan?

OR should I just say to 'Hell with it' and find as low-mile-but-also-as-new-as-possible 3rd gen Esploder/Mountaineer and go with that choice instead?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!