Diffs, transfer case and transmission fluid changes | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Diffs, transfer case and transmission fluid changes

keith904

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2010 Explorer 4.0 V6 4WD
I have a 2010 Explorer Eddie 4wd with about 100k on it. I am working my way through changing all the fluids so it is good for the next 100k :)

I think I understand how to change the rear diff oil, and intend to drop the pan and change the filter and fluid on the transmission.

My questions are:

1. I want to change the transfer case oil. I see ford recommend their own Motorcraft 'Transfer Case Fluid'. Not sure what this is, but I wanted to use a good synthetic Mercon ATF (I was thinking Mobil 1). Is this a good idea? Has anyone done this? Also I cannot find any pictures (or videos) to show me a 4th Gen Explorer and where the drain and fill plugs are on the transfer case - I am new at car maintenance and find that getting familiar using pictures and videos ahead of time helps a lot!

2. I wanted to change out the front differential oil too. I have read there is no drain plug on the front diff, is this correct? I have also read that it can be difficult/impossible to get the front diff cover off? Any advice on how I do this? Also does anyone have any videos or pictures of this on 2010 (or equiv) Explorer? I was going to fill this with a synthetic 75W-90 gear oil.

3. I have replaced the fuel filer, air filter and obviously change the oil and filter frequently. Is there anything else I should be thinking of doing in terms of preventative maintenance?

Any help and advise on this would be greatly appreciated!