Driveability help posts and replies (check engine lt and/or rough running) | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Driveability help posts and replies (check engine lt and/or rough running)

Autolabs

Reaction score
City, State
Nunica, Mi
Year, Model & Trim Level
2005 Explorer xlt 4.0
This is for all the driveability help requests

I’m frustrated with the auto parts and service industry. Why must so many people guess at what is wrong with their car and spend their hard earned money buying parts that didn’t fix the vehicle? My take is that they come in contact with influential people that don’t know enough to even realize what they don’t know. Maybe it is the part store counter guy, bogus forum threads, or a friend that works on cars, either way it doesn’t matter. I have seen many, many people experiencing hard times throw their time and last bit of money out the door from ill informed advice. I was a technician for 8 years, a part store manager for 4, and now a repair shop owner for 3 years, and yes I did have to scan codes for customers while managing the part stores. After retrieving codes for them and then walking back into the store, this is how the conversation sometimes went:

Me:
“Just so you know, this is not a diagnosis, a code only gives you a direction to start testing to find out what is setting it.”

Customer: (while looking me right in the eyes)
“So what do I need to buy?”

Me:
“A proper diagnosis”

Customer: (getting frustrated)
“I thought that is what you guys did here for free, that’s why I drove all the way here!”

Me:
“I’m sorry Mr./Mrs. customer, but my best advice is to hold off buying anything right now. It would make me feel terrible if you purchased anything on a guess and it didn’t fix it, because once installed, I can’t return it for you”.

You know, sometimes they didn’t even say thanks in a sincere tone on their way out the door, but that’s cool.